About Us » Superintendent & Administrative Team

Superintendent & Administrative Team

Ben Small, Superintendent

Ben Small has been an active member of the Spokane Valley community since he was named Superintendent of the Central Valley School District in 2008. He has more than 16 years leading school districts as Superintendent, driving strategic vision in school systems, and using a collaborative leadership style that develops common purpose.

In 1990, Mr. Small began his career in education teaching middle school in Walla Walla. From 1996 to 2008, he led in the Columbia School District as the middle school Principal, Executive Director for Teaching and Learning, and for five years as the Superintendent.

He earned his Associate of Arts degree from Spokane Falls Community College, holds his Bachelor of Arts and Master of Education degrees from Eastern Washington University, and earned his Superintendent Credential from Washington State University.
In Central Valley, Superintendent Small leads a preschool-12th grade school system of nearly 14,000 students and over 2,100 employees in 28 schools and learning centers over an 80-square-mile area.
Mr. Small is a founding board member and past president of PACE - Partners Advancing Character Education and past Chair of the Greater Spokane Valley Chamber of Commerce. He also serves on the WSU College of Medicine Dean's Advisory Council, the WSU Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine Admissions Committee, the Washington Association of School Administrators-Professional Standards & Ethics Committee, the Spokane County United Way Board of Directors, the Board of Trustees of Greater Spokane Incorporated, the Spokane Area Workforce Development Council, Providence Health Care Community Ministry Board, and is a member of the Sunrise Rotary Club of Spokane Valley.
CVSD Administrative Team for the 2021-2022 school year:

District Office Administration

  • Ben Small, Superintendent
  • Tim Nootenboom, Associate Superintendent of Learning & Teaching
  • Jay Rowell, Associate Superintendent of Human Resources & Operations
  • Terrie VanderWegen, Associate Superintendent of Equity and Whole Child Initiatives
  • Rick Doehle, Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Human Resources
  • Corey Groh, Executive Director of Human Resources & Operations
  • Eric Hoglund, Executive Director of Elementary Learning & Teaching
  • Matt Lambert, Executive Director of Secondary Learning & Teaching
  • Mandi Rehn, Executive Director of Human Resources & Operations
  • Bill Ash, Director of Assessment and Program Effectiveness
  • Brian Asmus, Director of School Safety & Security
  • Lisa Bjorklund, Director of Business Services
  • Eric Brewer, Director of Secondary Special Education
  • Molly Carolan, Director of Elementary Special Education
  • Rob Curnow, Director of Technology
  • Karen Hay, Director of CTE & Secondary Curriculum
  • Mat Knott, Director of Business Services
  • Kim Kyle, Director of Special Programs & Elementary Curriculum
  • Marla Nunberg, Director of Communications
  • Jerrol Olson, Director of Facilities
  • Cindy Sothen, Director of Learning Recovery
  • Caroline McRoberts, Assistant to Superintendent
  • Bill Coder, Custodial Supervisor
  • Janet Hall, Payroll Manager
  • Cheri Kaatz, Publications Manager
  • Denice Kwate, Nutrition Services Supervisor
  • Shannon McKenzie, Accounting Manager
  • Jeff Pflieger, Management Information Systems Manager
  • Nick Rawson, Manager of Fiscal Data
  • Bill Santiago, Purchasing Manager
  • Shanda Simpson, Nutrition Services Assistant Supervisor
  • John Toothaker, Technology Supervisor
  • Steve Verhoef, Transportation Supervisor

School  Principals, Assistant Principals and Deans

  • Nicole Karaus, Principal - Adams Elementary
  • Katrina Fuher, Dean - Adams Elementary
  • Lori Johnson, Principal - Broadway Elementary
  • Leah McCollum-Michelsen, Dean - Broadway Elementary
  • Christy Swan, Principal - Chester Elementary
  • Moe Weisbeck, Assistant Principal - Chester Elementary
  • Lindsay Kent, Principal - Greenacres Elementary
  • Becky Banks, Assistant Principal - Greenacres Elementary
  • Alisha Alsaker, Principal - Liberty Creek Elementary
  • Mitch Weller, Assistant Principal - Liberty Creek Elementary
  • Jen Tesky, Principal - Liberty Lake Elementary
  • Lauren Waterbury, Assistant Principal - Liberty Lake Elementary
  • Scott Krentel, Principal - McDonald Elementary
  • Laurie Spence, Principal - Opportunity Elementary
  • Brent Howard, Assistant Principal - Opportunity Elementary
  • Katie Norman, Dean of Students - Opportunity Elementary
  • Sasha Deyarmin, Principal - Ponderosa Elementary
  • Andrew Walters, Dean - Ponderosa Elementary
  • Eric Dobney, Principal - Progress Elementary
  • Jeff Dufresne, Principal - Riverbend Elementary
  • Jen Reyes, Assistant Principal - Riverbend Elementary
  • Stan Koep, Principal - South Pines Elementary
  • Travis Howell, Principal - Sunrise Elementary
  • Paige Laws, Assistant Principal - Sunrise Elementary 
  • Melanie Kilgore, Principal - University Elementary
  • Walt Clemons, Principal - Summit School
  • Laura Lindley, Principal - Bowdish MS
  • Eric Roal, Assistant Principal - Bowdish MS
  • Lane Helgeson, Dean - Bowdish MS
  • Mike Syron, Principal - Evergreen MS
  • Rachel Crooks, Assistant Principal - Evergreen MS
  • Quinn LeSage, Principal - Greenacres MS
  • Jennifer Chase, Assistant Principal - Greenacres MS
  • Josh Wolcott, Principal - Horizon MS
  • Jason Francek, Assistant Principal - Horizon MS
  • Jeremy Vincent, Principal - North Pines MS
  • Nate Bartlett, Assistant Principal - North Pines MS
  • Jen Hurst, Dean - North Pines MS
  • Ty Larsen, Principal - Selkirk MS
  • Alison Walton, Assistant Principal - Selkirk MS
  • Kerri Ames, Principal - Central Valley HS
  • Robin Barnhart, Assistant Principal - Central Valley HS
  • Tricia Campbell, Assistant Principal - Central Valley HS
  • Shannon McGowan, Assistant Principal - Central Valley HS
  • Tim Teterud, Assistant Principal - Central Valley HS
  • Adam Daniel, Dean - Central Valley HS
  • Kamiel Youseph, Principal - Mica Peak HS
  • Mike Johnson, Dean - Mica Peak HS
  • Jesse Hardt, Principal - Ridgeline HS
  • Grady Emmerson, Assistant Principal - Ridgeline HS
  • Abby Frandsen, Assistant Principal - Ridgeline HS
  • Kyle LeGrant, Dean - Ridgeline HS
  • Katie Louie, Principal - Spokane Valley Tech & STEM Academy
  • Keven Frandsen, Principal - University HS
  • Rob Bartlett, Assistant Principal - University HS
  • Brandon Deyarmin, Assistant Principal - University HS
  • Hana Miller, Assistant Principal - University HS
  • Paul Robinson, Assistant Principal - University HS
  • Jacquie Monks, Dean - University HS
  • Barb Sattler, Director - CV Early Learning Center
  • Matt Chisholm, Principal - CV Virtual Learning – Elementary
  • Janice Boyd, Principal - CV Virtual Learning - Secondary
  • Janice Boyd, Principal - Spokane Valley Learning Academy