Sexual Health Curriculum Review Process » Sexual Health Curriculum Review Process

Sexual Health Curriculum Review Process

Based on our expectation to have a broad-based committee look at all of the various aspects of this curriculum, we believe we will be able to identify and offer the best sexual health, human growth and development curriculum possible to serve our students’ needs.
  • We will utilize the same process that we use for identifying all other curricula in our district, whether math, English language arts, science, or sexual health.
  • Just like the rest of these curricula, any time that our parents or community have questions, we welcome a call to our Learning and Teaching Department, 509-558-5433 or email [email protected]
  • This review process will be focused on 6th-12th grades for 2022-23.
  • We will review any necessary changes to 4-5th grades in the following 2023-24 school year.
  • It is important to note that sexual health has not, nor will be, taught in K-3rd grades in CVSD.

There will be many opportunities for you to interface with this work and offer feedback.

 

Timeline

Date:

Action:

May 23, 2022

June 27, 2022

September 2022

October, 2022

December 2022

  • Parent Preview Window 
    • Parents review curriculum electronically and submit a feedback form
    • The committee will review all of the feedback forms

January 2023

  • Present to Instructional Materials Committee (IMC)
    • This is a committee established by the School Board and Administration, which also includes parent representation, who review all curriculum and instructional materials before making any recommendations to the School Board.
  • Public School Board update / presentation / public work session

January/February 2023

  • Tentative recommendation from IMC for approval by the CVSD School Board in a regular public School Board meeting

February/March 2023

  • Communication to families
    • Timeline of implementation, parent preview window and viable “opt out” options for those families that choose to do so

NOTE: This timeline will be updated periodically as further details become available.


6-12th Grade Sexual Health Curriculum Review Committee

Committee Composition:

  • Four (4) parents each from:  Middle and High School
  • Three (3) teachers each from:  Middle and High School
  • Tim Nootenboom, Associate Superintendent of Learning and Teaching
  • Kim Kyle, Director of Special Programs
  • Jen Chase, Professional Development
  • Professional Development staff
  • Representation from Clergy
  • Representation from the Medical Field

Community Committee Criteria:

  • Applicant currently resides in the Central Valley School District (CVSD).
  • Applicant has middle and/or high school students currently attending CVSD Schools.
  • Balance of CVSD regional residents (East, Central, West)
  • Depth and detail to the applicant’s response to:  
    • Please give a statement describing your interest in participating and what you feel you can contribute to this committee, including any applicable background and/or experience. 
  • Balance of community member views in favor, not in favor, or neutral, regarding 6-12th grade sexual health education in schools, based upon application responses.

Community Committee Representation:

HS Parents

Middle School Parents

Clergy

Medical

Chena Zimmerman

Central

Natalie Van Buren

East

Mark Walker

Spokane Valley Church of the Nazarene

Allen Skidmore

Providence

Gretchen Satran

West

Jessica Carroll

Central

Michael Dobson

Central

Alisa Spears

East

Maria Garcia-Bachman

East

Suzanne Groves

West

 


Background Information

Washington State Senate Bill 5395 went into effect on December 3, 2020. This new law requires all public schools to provide sexual health education by the 2022–23 school year. Instruction must be consistent with Health Education Learning Standards, which provide a framework for instruction and the provisions of the law. 

The implementation of the sexual health education in CVSD has been on pause until now, so that we can engage our parent community in a more effective way than what we could during the pandemic. Therefore, teaching of sexual health, human growth and development and HIV/AIDS Education in Central Valley School District has been suspended since the spring of 2021, where at that time, we taught the previous district-adopted curriculum that was in place prior to Senate Bill 5395 going into effect. 

 

NOTE: the new requirements require CVSD to make some moderate adjustments to what was previously taught in the district-adopted curriculum, prior the passage of Senate Bill 5395. 

Sexual health education must be provided to students as required, no less than:

  • Once to students in grades 4th and 5th per required standard.
  • Twice to students in grade 6th-8th per required standard.
  • Twice to students in grade 9th-12th per required standard.

Identified lessons will be scheduled and communicated with families so they always have an “opt out” option, upon request:

  • Parents and guardians have the right to opt their child out of any or all instruction in sexual health education.
  • Schools must honor the parent or guardian’s request to opt their child out.
  • Schools must notify parents and guardians when their child’s school will be providing sexual health education instruction and make instructional materials available to parents and guardians for review.
  • CVSD will provide viable opportunities for those students that are “opted out” of these lessons.